School Calendar

  2024 
Monday 8th Jan, 2024

Staff Admin Day

No School

Tuesday 9th Jan, 2024

First Day Back for Students

Thursday 11th Jan, 2024 | 10:00 - 14:30

HR MacMillan Space Centre Field Trip

Community 3

Wednesday 17th Jan, 2024 | 17:00 - 18:30

Open House

Wednesday 17th Jan, 2024 | 09:15 - 13:30

Science World Field Trip

Community 2

Thursday 18th Jan, 2024 | 10:00 - 13:00

Talaysay Tours: Spoken Treasures Indigenous Field Trip

Communities 2 & 3

Friday 19th Jan, 2024 | 09:00 - 15:00

Pro-D Day

No School

Tuesday 23rd Jan, 2024 | 10:00 - 11:00

Houston Space Centre: The Moon Above Virtual Field Trip

Community 3

Wednesday 24th Jan, 2024 | 10:00 - 11:00

Guest Speaker Community 2: Crystal Ehresman

Thursday 25th Jan, 2024 | 09:00 - 14:30

Coast Salish Contemporary Art Workshop

Community 3

Tuesday 30th Jan, 2024

Out in Schools

Community 1 & 2 ONLY

Out In Schools is BC’s award-winning 2SLGBTQIA+ education program. We use film and facilitated group discussion to engage youth in building safer, more inclusive communities

Tuesday 30th Jan, 2024 | 16:00 - 17:00

Kindergarten/ Grade 1 Assessments

Wednesday 31st Jan, 2024 | 16:00 - 17:00

Grade 2-7 Assessments

Wednesday 7th Feb, 2024 | 10:00 - 11:00

Celebrating a Dragon Year at Sun Yat-Sen Garden

Whole School Field Trip

Thursday 8th Feb, 2024 | 09:00 - 13:00

Roedde House Field Trip

Community 3

Thursday 15th Feb, 2024 | 13:30 - 15:15

Lunar New Year at Pear Tree

Friday 16th Feb, 2024

Pro-D Day

No School

Monday 19th Feb, 2024

Family Day

Statutory Holiday. No school for students.

Tuesday 20th Feb, 2024

Midterm Break

No school for students.

Monday 26th Feb, 2024 | 18:45 - 20:45

Parent Workshop Series with Drobot Counseling Workshop 2 of 3 “Cultivating Caring Children”.

This is the second of a special 3 part in-house workshop series hosted by Pear Tree School for parents and faculty. Join us to listen to Colleen Drobot of Drobot Counseling on “Cultivating Caring Children”. Please sign up for the workshop online. We ask that you make a minimum $5 donation per person attending per workshop.

Thursday 7th Mar, 2024 | 10:00 - 11:00

Home Depot Construction Field Trip

Community 4/5

Friday 8th Mar, 2024 | 08:45 - 11:30

Stanley Park Garbage Clean Up

Community 4/5

Saturday 9th Mar, 2024 | 09:30 - 10:30

“Point of Power” Virtual Workshop

The “Point of Power”, also known as the OARBED / Above the Line mindset (associated with Robert Kiyosaki, Bobbi DePorter and Marshall Thurber), is a transformative concept that revolves around taking ownership of our actions, decisions, and, ultimately, our lives.

To delve deeper into how the Point of Power can transform our approach to challenges, relationships, and personal development, we are thrilled to invite you to an exclusive Virtual Workshop.

Why it’s worth attending!

During this interactive session, we’ll dive deeper into the transformative concept of the “Point of Power” and how adopting the OARBED / Above the Line mindset can significantly enhance our personal growth, leadership skills, parenting strategies, and the overall well-being of our families and school community.

What to Expect:

  • Engaging Discussions: You’ll have the chance to explore practical strategies for applying the “Point of Power” principles in our daily lives, both personally and as parents. We will even give examples of how it’s impacted how Pear Tree School functions behind the scenes!
  • Real-life Application: Discover how these principles have positively influenced Pear Tree School’s culture and operations.
  • Interactive Q&A: Have your questions answered and share your insights with fellow attendees.
Monday 11th Mar, 2024 | 14:15 - 15:15

Com 4 & 5 Celebration of Learning Parent Sharing

Monday 11th Mar, 2024 | 08:30 - 10:30

End of Term Assessment Com 1, 2, & 3

Tuesday 12th Mar, 2024 | 14:15 - 15:15

Com 3 Celebration of Learning Parent Sharing

Wednesday 13th Mar, 2024 | 10:00 - 13:00

Axis Theatre It’s Okay to be Different

Communities 3, 4, & 5

Wednesday 13th Mar, 2024 | 14:15 - 15:15

Com 2 Celebration of Learning Parent Sharing

Thursday 14th Mar, 2024 | 14:15 - 15:15

Com 1 Celebration of Learning Parent Sharing

Thursday 14th Mar, 2024

Last Day of Regular School

Friday 15th Mar, 2024

Student Led Conferences

Students will come in to school for a scheduled time to lead their parents through the term’s learning. More information to follow.

Friday 15th Mar, 2024 | 15:00 - 15:00

Report Cards Live

Report cards live

Monday 18th Mar, 2024
Friday 29th Mar, 2024

Spring Break

No School

Monday 18th Mar, 2024

First Day of Spring Break

Report cards live

Friday 29th Mar, 2024

Last Day of Spring Break

Report cards live

Monday 1st Apr, 2024

Easter Monday

No school for students.

Tuesday 2nd Apr, 2024

Staff Admin Day

No School

Wednesday 3rd Apr, 2024

First Day Back for Students

Wednesday 3rd Apr, 2024

First Day of Term 3

Tuesday 9th Apr, 2024 | 10:00 - 11:30

VanDusen Gardens Field Trip

Community 3

Wednesday 10th Apr, 2024

Eid at Pear Tree

Wednesday 10th Apr, 2024 | 15:30 - 15:50

Saleema Noon Parent Q&A Workshop

Comm 4

Thursday 11th Apr, 2024

Eid at Pear Tree

Monday 15th Apr, 2024 | 18:45 - 20:45

Parent Workshop Series with Drobot Counseling: Workshop 3 of 3 “You’re Not the Boss of Me: Understanding Defiance and Cultivating Cooperation in Our Children”

This is the third of a special 3 part in-house workshop series hosted by Pear Tree School for parents and faculty. Join us to listen to Colleen Drobot of Drobot Counseling on “You’re Not the Boss of Me: Understanding Defiance and Cultivating Cooperation in Our Children”. Please sign up for the workshop online. We ask that you make a minimum $5 donation per person attending per workshop.

Monday 15th Apr, 2024
Friday 19th Apr, 2024

Earth Week

Friday 19th Apr, 2024 | 12:30 - 14:00

UBC Farm Gardening 101 Field Trip

Comm 2&3

Monday 22nd Apr, 2024

Pro-D Day

No School

Thursday 25th Apr, 2024 | 09:00 - 11:30

UBC Pacific Earth Museum Field Trip

Comm 1

Friday 26th Apr, 2024 | 08:45 - 11:45

Fraser River Park Field Trip

Comm 3

Monday 29th Apr, 2024 | 17:00 - 18:30

Spring Fling

Tuesday 30th Apr, 2024

School Picture Day

Tuesday 30th Apr, 2024 | 09:00 - 12:00

Museum of Vancouver Immigration Nation Exhibit Field Trip

Comm 1

Wednesday 1st May, 2024 | 16:00 - 17:00

Kindergarten/ Grade 1 Assessments

Thursday 2nd May, 2024 | 16:00 - 17:00

Grade 2-7 Assessments

Prospective students only.

Thursday 2nd May, 2024 | 10:00 - 11:00

Vancouver Symphony Orchestra

Communities 4 and 5 students will have an opportunity to visit the VSO for one of their Elementary School Concerts.

Wednesday 8th May, 2024 | 09:30 - 13:00

Trout Lake Field Trip

Comm 3

Wednesday 15th May, 2024 | 10:00 - 13:30

Chinese Canadian Museum – Uncovering the Paper Trail

Thursday 16th May, 2024
Friday 17th May, 2024

Camp Capilano

Thursday 16th May, 2024 | 09:30 - 12:00

Beaty Biodiversity Museum Field Trip

Comm 1

Friday 17th May, 2024 | 14:15 - 15:15

Comm 2 & 3 Celebration of Learning Parent Sharing

Monday 20th May, 2024

Victoria Day

Statutory Holiday. No School for Students.

Monday 27th May, 2024

Midterm Break

Midterm Break. No School for Students.

Tuesday 28th May, 2024 | 08:30 - 10:30

End of Term Assessment Coms 1, 2, & 3

Thursday 30th May, 2024

Jeans Day for BC Children’s Hospital

Tuesday 4th Jun, 2024 | 08:30 - 12:30

Spanish Banks Field Trip

Comm 3

Friday 7th Jun, 2024 | 13:30 - 15:15

Pride at Pear Tree

Monday 10th Jun, 2024 | 13:00 - 14:00

Com 4 & 5 Celebration of Learning Parent Sharing

Com 4 and 5 Celebration of Learning Parent Sharing.

Monday 10th Jun, 2024 | 14:00 - 15:00

Com 3 Celebration of Learning Parent Sharing

Tuesday 11th Jun, 2024 | 14:00 - 15:00

Com 2 Celebration of Learning Parent Sharing

Tuesday 11th Jun, 2024 | 14:00 - 15:00

Com 1 Celebration of Learning Parent Sharing

Wednesday 12th Jun, 2024

Sports Day

Parents and family are welcome to join us from 1:30-3:15 pm!

Thursday 13th Jun, 2024 | 09:00 - 12:00

Beach Day

Friday 14th Jun, 2024

Last Day of School

Sunday 30th Jun, 2024 | 15:00 - 15:00

Report Cards Live

No events for July.

No events for August.

Tuesday 3rd Sep, 2024

Staff Admin Day

No School for Students

Tuesday 3rd Sep, 2024 | 16:00 - 16:30

New Parent Orientation

Tuesday 3rd Sep, 2024 | 15:00 - 17:00

Uniform Pickup Day

anti-bullying
Wednesday 4th Sep, 2024

First Day of School

kindergarten
Wednesday 4th Sep, 2024 | 15:30 - 17:00

First Day of After School Care

Friday 6th Sep, 2024 | 14:30 - 15:15

Welcome Back Potluck at Connaught Park

Join us to kick off the new school year!

Monday 9th Sep, 2024

After School Co Curricular Programs Starts

Friday 13th Sep, 2024 | 14:00 - 15:15

Terry Fox Run

Parents are welcome to join us in the afternoon as we run to raise funds and awareness for cancer research #DearTerry

taking risks
Tuesday 17th Sep, 2024 | 15:30 - 16:00

E-Portfolio Workshop

Join us to learn about SeeSaw, and how to gain insight into your child’s progress and learning

Thursday 19th Sep, 2024 | 15:30 - 16:30

Curriculum Overview Event

Parents are strongly encouraged to join us to learn about the curricular plan for the school year

Friday 20th Sep, 2024

Pro-D Day

No regular school for students.
Pro-D Camp options available at pear-tree.ca

Monday 30th Sep, 2024

National Day of Truth and Reconciliation

No School for students. Statutory Holiday.

Monday 14th Oct, 2024

Thanksgiving

No school for students

Thursday 17th Oct, 2024 | 15:30 - 16:00

Goal Setting Workshop for Parents

Join Pear Tree faculty to learn about Student Goal Setting

Thursday 24th Oct, 2024

Parent Teacher Conferences

Staff will meet with parents for one-on-one meetings to discuss your child’s progress. More information to follow.

Friday 25th Oct, 2024

Midterm Progress Reports

More information to follow on how to sign up for a workshop/ session.

Friday 25th Oct, 2024 | 09:00 - 15:00

Pro-D Day Camps

No regular school for students. Pro-D camp options available!

Tuesday 29th Oct, 2024 | 15:30 - 16:30

Numeracy in Context Workshop for Parents

More information to follow

Thursday 31st Oct, 2024 | 13:30 - 15:15

Halloween at Pear Tree

Pear Tree is celebrating Halloween! Bring your costume in a bag for activities in the afternoon. More information to follow.

Monday 11th Nov, 2024

Remembrance Day

No school for students

Tuesday 12th Nov, 2024

Midterm Break

No school for students.

Tuesday 19th Nov, 2024 | 15:30 - 16:30

Literacy in Context Workshop for Parents

More information to follow

Friday 22nd Nov, 2024 | 09:00 - 15:00

Pro-D Camp

No regular school for students
Pro D Camp options available!

Monday 2nd Dec, 2024 | 08:30 - 10:30

End of Term Assessment Comms 2, 3, 6, & 7

Monday 9th Dec, 2024 | 17:00 - 18:30

Winter Potluck

taking risks
Wednesday 11th Dec, 2024 | 15:30 - 16:30

Assessment Workshop for Parents

Learn about how Pear Tree staff assess students and gather data for report cards

Monday 16th Dec, 2024 | 14:15 - 15:15

Comm 4 & 5 Celebration of Learning Parent Sharing

Wednesday 18th Dec, 2024 | 14:15 - 15:15

Comm 6 & 7 Celebration of Learning Parent Sharing

academic excellence
Thursday 19th Dec, 2024 | 14:00 - 15:15

Hanukkah at Pear Tree

Friday 20th Dec, 2024 | 08:00 - 12:00

Last Day of School

Friday 20th Dec, 2024 | 15:00 - 15:00

Report Cards Live

Saturday 21st Dec, 2024
Tuesday 14th Jan, 2025

Winter Reading Challenge

Take part in Pear Tree’s winter reading challenge! More information to follow.